Day 38 of My No Smoking Campaign

For 2011, I made only one New Year’s Resolution. That is to quit smoking and so far…I have not fallen off the wagon. I realized that for the better part of 2010, I was already smoking like a chimney. I would lit a stick as soon as I’m done with another. My smoking got out of hand that I would buy 1 or 2 packs of Marlboro Red in a day and smoked at least 15-20 sticks on a daily basis. There were many reasons why I decided to quit smoking and this includes:

  • My cough has not healed. I’ve been coughing for almost 4 months already and it’s not getting any better. Probably it has something to do with the fact that I absolutely detest taking medicines.
  • Smoking can age you. I’m about to turn 32 in April and though most people tell me I look younger than my real age, I could never deny that my age is starting to haunt me especially on my eye area. Hello laugh lines and wrinkles. At the alarming rate that they are appearing, I would probably need to stock up on quality moisturizers and anti-aging skin care products.
  • Second hand smoke is more dangerous and I don’t want anything to happen to my kids.

I just found out that a former class mate from Corpus Christi, Joey, has been diagnosed with lung cancer and I join in praying that he will be able to storm this test. His sister Jury mentioned in her FB page that Joey will be having his first chemo therapy session tomorrow and I really hope that his body will respond well to the treatment. Get well soon Joey and remember that God is always there for you no matter how great the battle may seem.

photo credits: click me

Leave a comment